Getting to Know: Tisane

tisaneI was browsing the coffee and tea section of the supermarket when I stumbled upon the word “tisane”. I recall having read it somewhere online, saying that it was good for relaxation. Though not a tea expert, I am an avid tea drinker. Growing up in Japan, tea was an essential part of everyday life. It is served much more often than water in most restaurants. In middle school, we were served hot tea with our lunch regardless of the weather! So, keeping my tea drinking experience in mind, I would say that I’m pretty close to an expert when it comes to tea. But I have never heard of Tisane! That did not prevent me from purchasing the box labeled tisane because it is marketed as “special relaxing herbal tea”, and therefore it has no caffeine. I have been searching for the perfect bedtime tea, and so I decided to give this product a try. But, being the nerdy person that I am, I decided to do some more research on this “tisane” tea.

What is tisane?
Apparently, tisane is a French word for “herbal infusion” (1). If you want to impress your friends and family on your knowledge of French, well there you go. Basically, tisane is tea without the caffeine, therefore it is great for bed time and great for those who need an alternative for their habitual night cap.

What does tisane taste like?
It tastes like any other herbal tea, really. The tisane I bought has chamomile, peppermint leaf and catnip leaf as the main ingredients. It mostly tastes like chamomile and mint, which is great! Because it also contains licorice root, but I am not a fan of licorice tea!

How to select a Tisane
When selecting a tea blend (bagged), it is best to check the ingredients list. The major ingredients will be listed first, with the least used in descending order. For relaxation, I find chamomile to be the best. However, from experience, lemon grass tea has also helped improve my sleeping habits.

Benefits of Tisane

  • Relaxation
  • Caffeine-free
  • Digestion (2) (some tea blends, containing chamomile)

References:
(1) http://www.adagio.com/info/tisanes.html
(2) http://umm.edu/health/medical/altmed/herb/german-chamomile
Read more on the benefits of herbal tea:
FALL HOLISTIC HEALTH: A FLU SHOT OR HERBAL TEAS? by the American College of Health Care Sciences.

Leave a Reply

